The conference organizing committee members are associated with the American Sociological Association, Section on Environmental Sociology, Committee on Racial Equity. They include: Michael Mascarenhas (University of California, Berkeley), Jennifer Carrera (Michigan State University), Raoul S. Liévanos (University of Oregon), Lauren Richter (Northeastern University), and Elisabeth Wilder (Northeastern University). Melina Packer (University of California, Berkeley) is the conference administrative assistant. J.M. Bacon (University of Oregon) assisted with securing grant funding for the conference from the National Science Foundation.